Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Introduction to “Slut-Shaming War: The Trilogy”*

**JRN202

I hate those kind of pretty girls who don’t bother trying to outsmart others and exercise their brain cells. They think their looks will get them ahead – always. One day that pretty face will falter and their beautiful hair will fall out or turn gray, and then looks won’t mean shit. Intelligence remains.

Women of the world, read books, study math, learn some history, teach yourself to write well, pick up a skill. Never rely on beauty.

Image

Borrowed from Facebook page Women’s Rights News

Honestly, I see plenty of young women nowadays who will spend hours prepping themselves for a night out, concerning themselves with their boyfriends or gossip when they should be studying, and some are talking like idiots. By that, I mean, adding the word “like” about three times in every sentence or asking stupid questions that makes me simply go, “Duh.” Don’t even get me started on Dance Moms and The Bachelor. I want to hurl and scream every time my roommates sit down to watch those TV shows. I probably should make it a habit to go to the study hall on those evenings, because blocking out the world with my Batman headset doesn’t seem to do the trick.

I know some of you are thinking, “This is what an ugly person would say.”ย I am not anti-beauty or dress like a slob or anything of the kind. I occasionally wear make-up, dresses and skirts. I love nail polish. Like any straight woman, I can easily talk and giggle about Andrew Garfield and Robert Downey, Jr. All I am trying to get across is that a super-woman can have both the smarts and the attraction.

And the physical strength for that matter.

I feel strongly inclined to write about feminism in this trilogy called “Slut-Shaming War.” Yes, there is a war going on and I’m glad how people and organizations are coming together to discuss rape, domestic violence, the glass ceiling and so on. Before you start saying am I over-reacting, look at this image.

Borrowed from the Facebook page Women's Rights News.

Borrowed from the Facebook page Women’s Rights News.

*This is the beginning of a feminist trilogy

**This blog entry was written for โ€˜Writing for Mass Media,โ€™ JRN202, at Central Michigan University.

