Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

**JRN202

It seems as though we women can never do right in the eyes of society. Cover too much, and the Virgin Maria and Amish references never end. If we expose too much, people think we wouldn’t hesitate to pole dance.

Capilano student Rosea Lake set this discussion* in motion last month when she published the picture called Judgment on her tumblr. Even I trip and fall into the bandwagon when it comes to skirt length. If I see a woman wearing a short-short skirt, I have the tendency to mark her as a slut or (preferably) “a walking disgrace.” I tend to believe that either she has no respect for herself and craves other people’s attention, or I think that she has an ego and wants to flaunt her goods.

Personally, I don’t think it’s necessary for any woman to “flaunt it” in public. Walking down a beach or hanging out in a public pool or maybe if it’s a really hot day in the park, I understand. Other than that, I don’t get it. There is something called MODESTY, ladies and gentlemen. A while ago, I read this quote by the Mad Men character Joan Holloway on Women’s Rights News (Facebook page). I didn’t write it down (shame), but it went something along these lines: “Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder and the beholder is whoever we allow it to be.”

Heidi Klum made a comment two years back about nude model shootings and she said that it’s important to leave something for the imagination. Don’t get me started on Jennifer Aniston, who was naked on a Rolling Stone cover (at least) once and I’ve seen Rihanna naked on GQ twice – well, last time, she wore a jacket over her shoulders, but don’t try telling me that doesn’t count. Even Beyonce did a shooting for GQ also, where she wore practically nothing. What is she thinking? She is a mother! She has a daughter, who is going to look up to her as a role-model. It would not surprise me if Ivy Blue would use that picture as an excuse to undress in front of a bunch of flashing cameras. “Mom, you did this when you were my age…”

Rosea Lake's "Judgment"

Rosea Lake’s “Judgment”

Underneath the skin

Honestly, I don’t like that I have these negative reactions towards women who expose themselves to the public, because I feel like I’m almost undermining their rights. It’s none of my business really and women deserve to do whatever they want with their bodies. But then again, look at this matter from another perspective: why are not men passively encouraged to undress and show their bodies to a camera, to the world?

No one says it aloud (I hope), but looking at the amount of photographs and videos of women exposing their bodies or performing sexual acts, I would say it’s encouraged. With the promise of money and fame, women are ready to put up with this kind of humiliation in order to get ahead in life. They do whatever the big boss on top is telling them, the women get some spare cash while the boss gathers the profit and lives casually behind the scenes, and then the poor women have to tolerate the stares, insults and judgments. It’s hypocrisy in its prime! Men aren’t nearly this pressured to go through the same thing in order to reach their goals.

This is another reason why I frown when a woman flashes the camera and smiles. She chooses to be used and judged.

LINKS:

Huffington Post: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/01/18/rosea-lake-vancouver-judgments-skirt-length-photo_n_2504950.html

Lake’s Tumblr account: http://roseaposey.tumblr.com/

*This is part two of a feminist trilogy

**This blog entry was written for ‘Writing for Mass Media,’ JRN202, at Central Michigan University.

