Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This Saturday, I attended the reception for the CMU Student Art Exhibition. There were many people there – students, people from the community, elders with cameras and curiosity in their eyes, the press, family and/or friends of the artists who had cheery reunions with them. I saw my friend Ife, who had two pieces in the exhibit and she was exploring the gallery with her boyfriend. It was also a competition in a way – anyone could vote on their favorite piece and drop the name in a box. After I had made three rounds, I made my contribution and left with a “CMU Student Art Exhibition” card.

 

My favorites

"Family Portrait Fiasco" - Larissa Parker

“Family Portrait Fiasco” – Larissa Parker

"Right in the Kisser" - Nicole Johnson

“Right in the Kisser” – Nicole Johnson

"The Portrait of a Lady" - Catherine Callahan

“The Portrait of a Lady” – Catherine Callahan

 

(close-up)

(close-up)

"Lover's Hideway" - Natalie Shaefer (sorry about the reflection)

“Lover’s Hideway” – Natalie Shaefer (sorry about the reflection)

"Discussion Piece" - David Birkham

“Discussion Piece” – David Birkham

"Instant Gratification" - Kara Cooke

“Instant Gratification” – Kara Cooke

'Untitled' - Ifeoluwaloju Zuri

‘Untitled’ – Ifeoluwaloju Zuri

'Untitled' - Larissa Parker

‘Untitled’ – Larissa Parker

"Hipster Liquor Series" - Andrew Jones

“Hipster Liquor Series” – Andrew Jones

"Inside" - Alyssa Gibson

“Inside” – Alyssa Gibson

"Altered Self" - Karley Hoffman

“Altered Self” – Karley Hoffman

I was scared of this one. There was something about the eyelashes that made me half-expect her to open both her eyes and mouth, and then devour my soul.

“You were better off…” by Nikolai Westgate

IMGP0341

IMGP0342

IMGP0343

 

Impressive how talented these young people are. I am glad I went.

 

