Tags

, , , , ,

BOSTON STRONG

TIME

I never considered myself a runner, but five years ago my best friend Brad called to tell me he had cancer. Brad was always the fit one, and I decided running could be a way for me to support him and raise money for his cause, the Dana-Farber Marathon Challenge, which benefits the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute in Boston. Before I knew it, I had signed up for my first marathon: the 2013 Boston Marathon.

The evening before the race my family walked down Boylston Street to scope out where they should stand during the marathon. We decided the area by the finish line would be too packed, and so they chose an area further back. When we passed the medical tent, my 14-year-old daughter said to me, โ€œDad, I hope you donโ€™t end up here.โ€

The marathon was tough, but when I reached the 20-mile mark, I remember thinking toโ€ฆ

View original post 692 more words

