Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

**Poetry Tuesday entry #7A**

Maybe I won’t analyze four poems in one entry. It might be overbearing, because once I start talking poetry, I won’t shut up. Speaking of overbearing, I apologize for cutting it short last week, but it was simply one of those days. A day to read and think and drink tea to stop yourself from saying things you’ll regret later. I gotta say, if Emily Dickinson chose to stay at home, I see why. Rough world out there. Lately I’ve had a huge work load and I’m trying to shove things off my plate so I can do fun things, like work on my novel, and go on this platform and write.

Anyway, back to the poetry. I decided to go with “The Bustle in a House,” because the motions in there still apply to my life.

tumblr_ndw580wGU51r25gxto1_1280

The Bustle in a House (#1108)

The Bustle in a House

The Morning after Death

Is the solemnest of industries

Enacted opon Earth –

 

The Sweeping up the Heat

And putting Love away

We shall not want to use again

Until Eternity –

 

— * I think Dickinson is talking about heartbreak, death being an exaggeration thereof, or perhaps it stands for depression. It appears the speaker is someone waking up early in the morning and listening to the sounds of people getting ready for the day. Those sounds are “the solemnest of industries,” something ordinary, an activity that occurs in most households all over the world. As though she performs a daily shore, like cleaning the house, she sweeps her emotions aside. She locks her heart somewhere, never to be seen or touched or used for as long as she lives. Since she uses the word “we,” I wonder if this has anything to do with her family. It sounds rather like it’s the speaker and the other people in the house who deal with some sort of heartbreak, sadness or depression that they, however, have to hide for the sake of keeping appearances. * —

Before you freak out, I’m not saying I’m depressed or anything. When I say “the motions apply to my life,” I mean this: There are so many things happening right now, it feels like I barely get a moment to feel or just react. Spewing stuff on social media is one thing, you know, but like tweets, those thoughts are so quick and then they’re easily forgotten, because you move on to the next task or appointment or whatever else. This is my last semester at college, at least as an undergrad, and I’m so busy juggling ten things at once that I feel like I can’t enjoy the ride as much. Every morning, there’s a bustle to get started for yet another day.

As cheesy as it sounds, it won’t kill me to stop and smell the roses.

