Tags

, , , , ,

** Poetry Tuesday Entry #9 **

Book Lover Problems...

Book Lover Problems…

Professor Fanning once told me to keep math out of poetry, “just forget the numbers.” A few weeks ago, though, I sat through an entire trig class where I understood nada. It was the first time an entire hour went by and I understood NADA. Of course, that inspired me to compose a poem.

**

[untitled]

There I sat in trigonometry class,
strings of question marks growing
out of my ears, like roots gone wild;
the teacher’s Charlie Brown phonics
incapable and unwilling
to find a home in my mind.

 

**

This morning I wrote another one about the long hours I spend doing homework while I’d much rather sit down with The Metamorphoses of Ovid.

 

**

The Calculator Talks

Tick tick tick clack pat

Syntax Error.

Tick tick clack pat tick.

MathXL flashes a red box and explains what I already know.

The example provides little comfort,

as though the program has given up

on me. They want me to leave as much as I want to read.

Clack pat tick tick tick.

Well done! One problem completed after ten minutes.

Eleven problems to go.

I got eleven problems,

and the stories for my English class isn’t one.

Click tick tick clack pat.

My calculator laughs.

 

**

 

